Announcing the Bert Roth Award for Labour History 2020 Shortlist!

The Labour History Project is excited to announce the shortlisted titles in the running for the Bert Roth Award for Labour History 2020. Congratulations to all of those shortlisted!

The 2020 Shortlist:

Caitlin Lynch, Director, Harriet Morrison – Fighting for Fairness

Hilary StaceJB Munro: Community Citizen, Wellington, 2019

Rachel Standfield and Michael J. Stevens, ‘New Histories but Old Patterns: Kāi Tahu in Australia’ in Victoria Stead and Jon Altman, ed., Labour Lines and Colonial Power: Indigenous and Pacific Islander Labour Mobility in Australia, Canberra

Tony Sutorius, Director, Helen Kelly – Together

Stephanie Gibson, Matariki Williams and Puawai CairnsProtest Tautohetohe: Objects of Resistance, Persistence and Defiance,Te Papa Press

Jared Davidson, Dead Letters: Censorship and Subversion in New Zealand 1914-1920, Otago University Press

Barbara Brookes, Jane McCabe and Angela Wanhalla. eds., Past Caring? Women, Work and Emotion, Otago University Press

Toby Boraman, ‘Indigeneity, Dissent, and Solidarity: Māori and Strikes in the Meat Industry in Aotearoa New Zealand During the Long 1970s’, International Review of Social History, 64, 1, 2019, pp.1-35.

Max Nichol, An ‘Organ of Student Opinion’? Alternative Print, Protest, and the Politics of Education in Salient, 1973-1989, MA Thesis, Victoria University of Wellington

About the Award

The Bert Roth Award for Labour History, named for the late historian Herbert Roth, is presented annually by the Labour History Project. It is awarded to the work that best depicts the history of work and resistance in New Zealand published in the previous calendar year.

Announcing the Winner

The winner of the Bert Roth Award for Labour History will be announced at the LHP AGM on Tuesday 11 August 2020. More information about the AGM can be found here: